Cold and Flu Miracle?

Back in the autumn I made some Elder Rob, using elderberries picked from our woods and Pamela Michaels recipe from her book Edible Wild Plants & Herbs: A Compendium of Recipes and Remedies

I made this because I love elderflower sooo much I thought it was time to try the berries. Beware tho’ although they are edible raw the react with some people and make them quite sick. We discovered this the hard way.
They are fine once they are cooked though.

I chose this particular recipe because everything I have made from this book has been amazing. The elderflower drink is like summer in a glass and the blackberry sorbet is just wow.

I made the elder rob with high hopes of deliciousness. It says “a soothing bedtime drink…..a refreshing summer drink…the sweet authentic flavour of the wild berries transforms a good quality commercial ice cream into a very good dish…..”

20150208-155953.jpg
I made it, bottled it then I tried it Blurgghhh was the only word I had for it. The other thing it said was “Many old books give Elder Rob as a remedy for coughs, colds and site throats”. So I thought I would keep it just in case.

Well just incase happened a couple if weeks ago when it was mini me’s birthday, several of her friends parties and a trip to London (first one for the girls) for Rich’s Ceremony. Mini me started coughing and looking pretty translucent. I was scrolling through Pinterest and saw a pin on elderberry being a cold and flu remedy. I remembered the Blurgghhh drink and thought I’d check it out. I opened it and the bottle popped and smoked like it was alive. It smelt a bit alcoholic, no harm there I thought. I poured about 2 teaspoons into a tumbler and filled it up with water. I swirled it to mix as the rob was a bit thick (I think I must have omitted to strain it). I then told them I’d made them a “special” drink. They quite liked it said it just tasted like sweet water, they didn’t want the dregs at the bottom. Fair enough. Mini me’s cough disappeared overnight. She seamed a bit gluey eyed the next evening so she drank another one. Cold gone!!!!!! And her sister showed no signs of it. I thought this might be a fluke but took some myself when I started feeling a bit dizzy, again I had no more symptoms. It tastes quite nice now, I think the few months brewing have improved the taste.

20150208-160417.jpg
Fast forward to the beginning of this week and Rich has gone to bed early, sniffing, sneezing, coughing and with a headache. I encouraged him to try a spoonful, it looks like Nanny McPhee’s medicine from the second film. He hates stuff like this but agreed it wasn’t so bad with a lemonade chaser. He also had a couple of paracetamol, then slept really well and woke up with all symptoms gone bar his headache. That evening his nose and throats started to hurt again so he had another teaspoon full.

All symptoms gone!!!!

I am ready to declare the nanny McPhee gloppy, smoking medicine a success.

This entry was posted in wild remedies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

